• Record 32 wins for Honda, including the last eight
  • 16 Pro Moto Unlimited victories for CRF450X

Honda added to its rich off-road racing legacy on Friday night when SLR Honda crossed the finish line of the Baja 1000 with the Pro Moto Unlimited win. 

The success marked a record 32 victories for Honda in the legendary event, including the last eight in a row and 25 of the previous 26. It also represented a record 16 wins for the CRF450X and five consecutive victories for the SLR Honda squad. This year comprised owner-rider Mark Samuels and co-riders Justin Morgan and Kendall Norman. 




It is six Baja 1000 wins for Morgan, seven for Samuels and eight for Norman. Night specialist Morgan was the seventh rider to leave the Ensenada start early on Friday morning. He handed off to Samuels approximately 275 miles later, near Puertecitos, on the Gulf Coast. 

Samuels, who assumed the physical lead around 65 miles into his stint, turned the bike over to Norman around the midway point on the road to Mike’s Sky Ranch. Approximately 250 miles later, Morgan took over again at El Alamo for the final 100-mile sprint back to the finish in Ensenada. 

The squad covered the 830.9-mile course in an official time of 18 hours, 51 minutes, and 30.152 seconds, which was 1 hour, and 17 minutes quicker than the second-place team.

“Man, it was a tough course,” Samuels told SCORE at the finish. “It was rough and kind of slower than what we anticipated. We had our hands full at the beginning, but it was a perfect race, and by race mile 340, we were in the lead. From there, we just had to bring it home, and we had a great, solid effort the whole way.”



On top of its motorcycle success, Honda tasted victory with the Ridgeline truck, as the Class 7 win went to the Honda Factory Off-Road team (comprising owner-driver Jeff Proctor and codrivers Gatlan Haddon, Sachin Joshi, Richard Glaszczak and Chip Prescott). 

Honda also won other classes, with a Fernando Beltran-led effort topping Pro Moto Limited, a Guy Laycraft-led team winning Pro Moto 60, a Hector Chavez-led effort victorious in Pro Quads, a Rabago Dario-led team winning Sportsman Quads, and Tanner Janesky claiming victory in Pro Moto Ironman. In addition, a pair of Honda Talon 1000R side-by-sides finished second and third in the Pro UTV Normally Aspirated class.

via Honda News

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments