Silverstone played host to a crazy MotoGP qualifying. As Jorge Martin’s furious pace in the final qualifying stages was wiped from the record books by a cruel timing glitch.

Imagine being the first of six riders across the finish line. You celebrate your 1.5s quicker lap. Only to find out it’s been voided due to a track limits violation with only five seconds on the clock, this is agonising.

And later, you find out you missed the Turn 8, which made the MotoGP cancel the lap time.


Result well Pol Espargaro was handed the first pole ahead of Francesco Bagnaia, followed by Fabio Quartararo.

Martin went on to stand fourth. Followed by March Marquez and Aprilias Aleix Espargaro.

With Yamaha splitting with Vinales.Cal Crutchlow now moves from Petronas Yamaha to the Monster Yamaha.

The movement has made SRT to fetch Moto2 rider, Jake Dixon who will premier his first race in MotoGP in front of home fans.

He arrives in place of Franco Morbidelli.Who is still injured and will ride Yamahas 2019-based A-Spec bike.

2021 Silverstone qualifying results

PositionRiderManufacturerCountryMaxTime Difference
1Pol EspargaroRepsol Honda (RC213V)SPA336k1’58.889s
2Francesco BagnaiaDucati Team (GP21)ITA338k+0.022s
3Fabio QuartararoMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)FRA332k+0.036s
4Jorge MartinPramac Ducati (GP21)*SPA339k+0.185s
5Marc MarquezRepsol Honda (RC213V)SPA335k+0.197s
6Aleix EspargaroAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)SPA334k+0.384s
7Jack MillerDucati Team (GP21)AUS338k+0.479s
8Valentino RossiPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)ITA332k+0.642s
9Johann ZarcoPramac Ducati (GP21)FRA339k+0.690s
10Alex RinsSuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)SPA331k+0.750s
11Joan MirSuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)SPA329k+0.874s
12Brad BinderRed Bull KTM (RC16)RSA332k+1.088s
 Qualifying 1:    
13Enea BastianiniAvintia Ducati (GP19)*ITA338k1’59.553s
14Luca MariniSky VR46 Avintia Ducati (GP19)*ITA334k1’59.764s
15Takaaki NakagamiLCR Honda (RC213V)JPN331k1’59.881s
16Danilo PetrucciKTM Tech3 (RC16)ITA334k1’59.997s
17Alex MarquezLCR Honda (RC213V)SPA333k2’0.117s
18Iker LecuonaKTM Tech3 (RC16)SPA330k2’0.131s
19Cal CrutchlowMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)GBR333k2’0.217s
20Miguel OliveiraRed Bull KTM (RC16)POR331k2’0.391s
21Jake DixonPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)GBR325k2’0.869s



0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments